Final Thoughts

This course has been a stimulating and rich learning experience. As I reflect on the past sixteen weeks, I am amazed at how comprehensive this course has been. We covered a lot of ground.

Screen shot 2014-12-21 at 8.11.43 PM

The highlight of this course, for me, was the chance to focus on my Course Project in such an in-depth way. The completion of the annotated bibliographies was, in turn, exhausting and exhilarating. I enjoyed the challenge of searching for relevant literature and was thrilled by how each study offered a new perspective on my topic. This was a wholly satisfying experience. I can envision this as being applicable to my work as an early childhood professional in the fact that I believe that we should never stop learning. Knowing how to be a successful consumer of research is an important skill to have.

I will admit to some frustration with the technology required to post my final discussion presentation. It was hard to accept that after all the time and effort I spent on my presentation, I would not be able to present it the way it was intended. I hope to view this as a learning experience—if not a lesson in humility. Throughout my academic career, I have typically found that perseverance will eventually lead to the desired outcome, but not so in this case. It was a humbling experience.

Screen shot 2014-12-21 at 7.46.31 PM

I thoroughly enjoyed the discussion forum and I found much insight and guidance there—from my classmates as well as from our professor. I looked forward to visiting the board and always came away a little richer for the experience.

Screen shot 2014-12-21 at 8.07.30 PM

I want to thank all of my classmates and Dr. B. for all you have brought to this remarkable course. For me, it was definitely time well spent and I am grateful to you all.

I wish you a most joyous holiday season and time to reflect, to rest, and to enjoy. I look forward to our next leg of this doctoral journey. Good wishes to all and thank you.

Screen shot 2014-12-21 at 7.53.12 PM

 

Julie

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Final Thoughts

  1. Oh my I thought I was the only one having such a hard time. I had to turn off my security program and still had to delete video I had created in my presentation. To top it off I now have strep throat so the speaking portion was the pits to accomplish.
    The good thing it is over. I am taking a semester off. I hope you enjoy your break.

    • Hi Marjorie,
      No indeed, you were not the only one and I think we were not the only two! That was a particularly stressful assignment–due to the technology part. I expect my old computer and my slow internet connection contributed to the issue, but I had a hard time convincing myself that I was not going to be able to do it. Sorry to hear about your throat–I hope you feel better soon! Enjoy your semester off and best of luck in all you do.
      Have a joyous holiday!
      Julie

  2. Hello Julie,
    First let me say that I want to wish and your family a peaceful and joyous holiday. This course has been a positive experience for me, even with the challenges of balancing required work and home responsibilities. I have been able to gain insights about my perceptions, and to find the strength to uncover the negative biases that I was not aware of. Julie, I had a challenge with technology at the end as well, however, it was resolved with time. Good luck. I look forward to being in other courses with you as we strive to complete this degree.

    • Hi Gloria,
      Thank you and I hope you have a restful and joyous holiday as well. I have enjoyed your contributions on the discussion board. You bring much insight to the board and I appreciate the thoroughness and the care you take with the assignments. I look forward to sharing another class with you–it all seems to be going by so fast!
      Best wishes to you and your family,
      Julie

  3. Hi Julie! I know that I wasn’t in your cohort, but when I scrolled down and started to read your final post from last semester: I had to chime in! I had a TERRIBLE time with the technology as well…I probably put 100 hours into my video and each version, as I shortened it, got worse and worse! Truly a labor of love that: felt more like labor than love by the end! Your cartoon captured it perfectly!!!! Thank you for the chuckle! I look forward to learning with you this semester!!!

Leave a Reply

